On Wednesday 24th June, St. Paul’s football team entered a friendly tournament at St. Joseph’s School. Our team was:

Aaron Buckley

Kian Whatmough

Evan Jubb

Billy Ford

Reece De-Fazio

Marcel Forsyth

Liam Smith

Fletcher Pealin


We played three matches and the results of the matches were:



St. Paul’s  v St. Joseph’s

Won 5 - 0

St. Paul’s v St. Aidan’s

Drew 0 – 0

St. Paul’s v Corpus Christi

Lost 1 - 0


This was the first time the boys had played together and they played really well. In the first match they won 5 – 0: Kian scored 1, Reece 2 and Evan 2. In the second match they played against the eventual winners and it was their best performance to hold them to a 0 – 0 draw with Kian saving a penalty!! Unfortunately, they lost the last match so didn’t get through to the semi finals. Well played boys and thanks to Kian’s Dad for helping with the management of the team!

The St. Paul’s House Football Tournament took place on Friday 20th June 2014. The players who took part were from Key Stage 2 and played for the House that they represent.


Matthew Berry (Yr 6)

Ryan Bamblin (Yr 6)

Luke Owen (Yr 5)

Louis Hall (Yr 5)

Luke Rainey (Yr 4)

Daniel Young (Yr 4)

Jack Mclaughlin (Yr 3)


Josh Hardman (Yr 6)

Harry Sellars (Yr 6)

James Decamps (Yr 5)

Harry Nixon (Yr 5)

Ben Smithies (Yr 4)

Addam Warnock (Yr 4)

Isaac North (Yr 3)

Andrew Finnigan (Yr 3)


Lewis Naylor (Yr 6)

Max Newman (Yr 6)

Daniel Howe (Yr 5)

Rhys Brown (Yr 5)

George Smyth (Yr 4)

Leon Guest Jones (Yr 4)

Robson Hindle (Yr 3)


Jace Isherwood (Yr 6)

Amarni Gittens (Yr 6)

Kane Stevens (Yr 5)

Ewan Rodgers (Yr 5)

Adam Thomas (Yr 4)

Louis Humphreys (Yr 4)

Ben O’Callaghan (Yr 3)

Owen Holdaway (Yr 3)


Elk 1

Josh Hardman

Delta 0

Sandy 0


Vine 2

Daniel Young

Matthew Berry

Elk 3

Addam Warnock

Josh Hardman

Ben Smithies

Sandy 2

Ben O’Callaghan

Kane Stevens

Vine 0


Delta 2

George Smyth

Rhys Brown

Vine 2

Matthew Berry x 2

Elk 4

Josh Hardman

Ben Smithies

Harry Nixon

Addam Warnock

Delta 2

Robson Hindle

Daniel Howe

Sandy 0

In the final, it was 0 - 0 between Elk and Delta after 15 minutes of play. It was decided to hold 2 minutes of extra time before the dreaded penalty shoot out! Fortunately, with just 30 seconds to go, Addam Warnock scored for Elk and they held on to win the competition.


           Elk 1                Delta 0

   Addam Warnock                   (AET)


On Wednesday 11th June, St. Paul’s Year 5 football team took part in a World Cup themed football competition. Our team was:

Daniel Howe

Kane Stevens

Sam O’Callaghan

Rhys Brown

Charlie Kershaw

Harry Nixon

Ben Mclaughlin


When we arrived, we were asked to pick out a World Cup country to represent and Mr. Dean pulled out Italy. We were placed in a group with Switzerland and England.

The results of the matches were:



St. Paul’s (Italy) v Rushcroft (England)

Won 1 – 0

St. Paul’s (Italy) v Hodge Clough (Switzerland)

Lost 0 – 3

St. Paul’s (Italy) v Rushcroft (England)

Drew 1 – 1

St. Paul’s (Italy) v Hodge Clough (Switzerland)

Drew 1 – 1